Keynote Speakers & Dawn Field Awardee

(Session) Keynote Speakers

  • Session 1: Reproducibility Challenges J. Gregory Caporaso (Northern Arizona University, The Translational Genomics Research Institute)

  • Session 4: Challenges of ‘Omic data reuse - IMMSA Jonathan Eisen (UC Davis Genome Center)

  • Session 5: Genomics and Standards challenges Jack Gilbert (UCSD)

  • Session 6: Reproducibility Challenges to Solutions Rachel Gallery (University of Arizona)

Dawn Field Awardee

The ‘Dawn Field Award for Outstanding Contributions to Genomic Standards’ annual award, established in 2022, is to recognize achievements of early-career researchers for their significant contributions to the field of genomic standards. The award honors Dr. Dawn Field (1969-2020) the Genomic Standards Consortium (GSC) founder and a pioneer in the field of genomic standards. Nominations are made by GSC Board members. Awardees will present their research at the annual GSC meeting. Dr. Dawn Field established the GSC consortium in 2005, building a community of researchers committed to building and implementing genomic metadata standards to make data discoverable and reusable.

Presenting the 2024 winner

Savvas Paragkamian University of Crete, Institute of Marine Biology, Biotechnology and Aquaculture.

Savvas was nominated for his significant contributions to the analysis of the GSC’s 1st Island Sampling day data (see GSC’s ISD GitHub) and standardization of ecological data for the manuscript, his leadership in the 2nd Crete ISD (2022), and his Ph.D. utilizing the ISD data for studying the Microbiome of the island of Crete, Greece.

Savvas will present his work at GSC24 Tucson.

Previous ‘Dawn Field Award for Outstanding Contributions to Genomic Standards’ Awardees:

2022 Raïssa Meyer at the Alfred Wegener Institute for her work on the The Omic Biodiversity Observation Network.

2023 Montana Smith at PNNL for her work on standards for the quantitative stable isotope probing (qSIP) genomics.

About Genomic Standards Consortium

GenSC logo